WANT YOU TO – WOULD LIKE YOU TO

Here’s a short explanation on the use of the expressions above.

In Portuguese, when we want someone to do something for us, we say,

“eu quero que você faça isso para mim”.

In English, the language seems much more objective,

“I want you to do this for me.”

Or, with the verb “gostaria”, “would like”, we would have,

“I would like you to do this for me.”

Can you say “I want that you do this for me”? NO, YOU CANNOT. That is the way we say it in Brazil, but to express that in English, use the formula:

  • WANT + (OBJECT = THE PERSON) + TO DO
  • WOULD LIKE + (OBJECT = THE PERSON) + TO DO

One comment

Deixe uma resposta

